Boards & Commissions

Boards & Commissions

    Ethics Commission

    The purpose of these ethical standards is to guide town officials, elected and appointed, town employees, and citizens by establishing standards of conduct for persons in the decision-making process. These standards are intended to strengthen the tradition of good government in the town. Good government depends upon decisions which are based upon the merits of the issue and are in the best interests of the town as a whole, without regard to personal gain. (Suff. Code, Art. V§2-161). The board of ethics shall render advisory opinions with respect to the applicability of this code of ethics to specific situations to any agency, or any officer, official, employee or individual pursuant to a written request or upon its own initiative (Suff. Code, Art. V§2-178).

    The commission consists of:
    (a) Five (5) members who shall be electors of the town, no more than two (2) of whom shall be of the same political party. The members shall be appointed by the first selectman with the approval of the board of selectmen and serve for a term of four (4) years. No member shall serve as a member of any other town board, commission, authority, or committee or the board of education nor be employed by the town or board of education.
    (b) Alternate members. In addition to the regular members, the First Selectman shall appoint two (2) alternate members, not of the same party, with the approval of the Board of Selectmen. The two (2) alternate members shall serve in the absence of a regular member on a rotational basis with the same powers and authority as a regular member. No alternate member shall serve as a member of any other town board, neither commission, authority, Board of Education. All appointments shall be for four-year terms.
    (Suff. Code, Art. V§2-176 as modified by Town Charter).

    Completed Ethics Forms should be mailed to :

    • The Suffield Ethics Commission
      Suffield Town Hall
      83 Mountain Road
      Suffield, CT 06078

    Listing files in 'Town Ethics Documents'


    Carol Martin

    July 2010 - June 2023

    Ellen Taylor-Stearns
    July 2010 - June 2022

    George Dalrymple, Jr.
    Sept 2013 - June 2021

    Dennis Kreps
    Sept 2014 - June 2022

    Jay Presser
    Oct 2017 - Jul 2023

    Heather Lee
    Oct 2014 - June 2022

    Open Position
    Democrat or Unaffiliated
    through June 2022